Michael's 4-H Update


” When She Wants Water, She’s Impossible: 4-H Youth Reflect on the State 4-H Dairy Show.
August 20, 2010, 6:07 pm
Filed under: Dairy

The Central Vermont 4-H Dairy Youth of Orange County reflect on their experience at the State 4-H Dairy Show.  Each were interviewed and were asked about preparing for the show, competition, challenges and what they might do differently next time. 

Jake Senecal (Rambling River 4-H Dairy Club):  My cow Milky Way is 

I'm still I'm trying to get her to listen and follow me.

 very friendly and she likes people but I’m still I’m trying to get her to listen and follow me.  Sometimes she just bows her head, spreads her legs out and stops.  She also gets tired after 45 minutes. She reminds me a lot of Ferdinand the bull who would rather sit and smell the roses.     To prepare her for the show, I bond with her by feeding her daily; taking her to the water bin and leading her for  20-30 minutes.  If I have to name three life skills I’m learning with Milky Way I would choose patience, understanding, and leadership.  I do enjoy competing at the State level but during the year if I compete too many times it gets boring.  Things I would change for the next show?   I would pay more attention to Milk Way than worry about what the judge thinks. 

 
 

She needs to hold her head up more--that's a challenge.

Levi Vaughn 

(Rambling River 4-H Dairy Club):  :  My cow Clover is a nice friend.  I prepare her by keeping her fed and cleaned and I lead her about 20 minutes a day.  She needs to hold her head up more–that’s a challenge.  I think that if I would give her more space to work through her stubbornness, she would probably get back on track….. but I was concentrating more on the judge and caring more about what he was thinking.   I like to compete in fitting in show because it gives me the opportunity to show people how bonded I am with my animal.  
  

Tim Carson (Rambling River 4-H Dairy Club):  :   My cow Sam is a real 

When she wants water, she's impossible. She won't listen to a word I say.

pain in my b_tt.   When she wants water, she’s impossible. She won’t listen to a word I say…..she’ll go straight for the water instead.  I spend a lot of time leading her with a show halter at least an hour a day.  She’s taught me a lot about patience and listening.  I did really well today.  I’m not sure if I would change much at all. 

Morgan Conant (Middle Branch 4-H Dairy Club):  My cow Orphan is very caring and loving. She’s my pet. 

I like to get her top line looking really great so I use a blow dryer and hair spray. Morgan Conant

  Orphan knows me when I clip her feet and head. I lead her about 1/2-45 minutes a day.  My dad leads another cow with me so she gets used to walking with other cows.  She gets tired easily and doesn’t like to walk after 30 minutes.  I like to get her top line looking really great so I use a blow dryer and hair spray.   I do like to compete….it’s fun to see how I do against others.  I makes me work harder and to do my best.   I’m not sure if Orphan is a first place cow but she’ll probably be in the top three.  She has taught me to be a better listener and observe how she is acting so I can figure out what she needs.  Recently she was scratching herself on a brush and my mom thought she was thirsty but then I realized that she wasn’t thirsty at all, she just had an itch she needed to scratch.    We are also both learning how to be patience with each other.  

 
 
 
 

When she gets stubborn I let it go...I don't fight her and the she comes around.

Kim Paige 

(Middle Branch 4-H Dairy Club):  : My cow Joy does not like to be clipped.  When she gets stubborn I let it go…I don’t fight her and the she comes around. I try to lead her everyday so she gets used to the halter, as if we are in a show ring. I like to compete.  It makes the experience a lot more fun and there is so much to think about– patience, decision making and concentration. 

 
 

She teaches me to stay calm....because if I get worked up-- she gets worked up

Alison Powell 

(Middle Branch 4-H Dairy Club):  : I love my cows Lizard and Dream:  Washing and preparing her for the show can be challenging because she’s as stubborn as a Brown Swiss.   She teaches me to stay calm….because if I get worked up– she gets worked up.  I try to lead her with other cows to get her familiar when she’s with others in the ring.  Can you believe my cow has dandruff?  I have to use a special shampoo to get rid of it.   I love competition…..it brings out your best.  I say aim high, go for it all.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment